A New Ultra

This morning, I learned that a running friend is organizing an ultra, to be run next Fall.

The Port Credit 52 Pick Up Ultra Marathon sounds good for a number of reasons. First of all, Stephen, who’s organizing it, is a good guy – kind of a quirky, laid back fellow who’s bound to put together something interesting. Secondly, it’s going to be run locally – always a joy not to have to drive a long way to run a race, IMHO. Thirdly, though I have no details yet about the event, its name suggests that it’s going to be more a cooperative effort among participants than a big, organized event – and that suits me and the kind of running I like to do.

It’s fun looking ahead to what races I might do next year. I’ve already decided I want to do the Niagara 50K Ultra again, and the Toronto 100K Ultra is a definite (though challenging) possibility. And there are a number of trail ultras on the Ontario Ultra Series calendar that I want to try. Of course, I plan to do them all in my VFF KSOs…

All in all, a great idea. Congrats to Stephen for putting it together!

What do you think?

