Recent Runs

I had a really excellent 16K run yesterday. I did it at my “Sunday” pace, which means a leisurely 6:30 mins/km. That made the run into a kind of mini-retreat, a long enough run at a comfortable enough pace that I felt I’d explored the world a bit, and also let my own mind come to a renewed sense of balance. That feeling of ease and enjoyment was helped by the fact that yesterday I ran through occasional layers of bright yellow fallen leaves on the sidewalks. Good fun!

This morning, I ran 8.5k at an easy pace, a bit above yesterday’s LSD (Long Slow Distance) pace, but not quite a tempo pace. The temperature was a decidedly cool 2C, but the sky was clear. I started my run at about 6:40 AM. With yesterday’s change back to Standard Time, that meant I actually had an early morning run in the sunshine! Sunshine, glorious sunshine! We’re on our way to the winter solstice (December 21), which will be the darkest day of the year, so I’m going to revel in these sunny mornings for as long as I can.

I’m now running in my Fivefingers KSOs, with the addition of Injinji socks. The Injinji’s don’t feel odd or uncomfortable anymore. In fact, they make my feet feel kind of cozy.

All in all, a good couple of days. Tomorrow will be another short run, then I’ll do the second of my hill repeat sessions on Wednesday. And sometime soon my second pair of KSOs should arrive!

What do you think?

