Down, Not Out

This is my third day without a run. It’s been a while since I’ve gone this long without running. Not fun. Not fun at all.

I seem to have come down with a virus that has affected my sinuses and inner ear. No pain, but it’s made me very lightheaded and dizzy. Too tippy to sit up comfortably, and, for the past two days, unable to do anything except lie down and read. (Not the worst thing in the world, as I read two excellent – but very different – books, “Summertime” by J.M. Coetzee and “The Women” byT.C. Boyle.) I’m feeling much better today, and hope to move around enough to get all my Saturday stuff done.

I had planned to go for a 25K run tomorrow (Sunday), but I don’t think that’s going to happen. If there’s any justice in the world, I’ll feel well enough to get out for a run of some kind – the longer the better. But, as I know all too well, part of being a strong old animal is being a wise old animal, so caution will definitely be the better part of valour this weekend.

Truthfully, I don’t know which is worse, being sick or not being able to run. No wait, of course I know which is worse. I’m going to run tomorrow, for sure.

What do you think?

