Data Again

I’ve had my treadmill for a while now, and have done a number of runs on it, from 3K to 10K, at both easy and tempo paces. All in all, I’m pretty happy with it. It works as advertised, and its feature set is exactly what I wanted. More to the point, really, it’s enabled me to do my first-thing-in-the-morning runs no matter what the weather. That’s a good thing.

What’s new is that I’m getting back to data collection and interpretation. For the last little while, my outdoor runs have been timeless, i.e., I’ve been running without a watch. It’s been a freeing experience, and one I’ve very much enjoyed. The treadmill, on the other hand, presents a basic set of data – time, distance, speed, and calories used, as well as having an option for reading heart rate. Given that next week I plan to start my training program for next spring’s Toronto 100K Ultra, having that kind of data available is a plus. In fact, today I bought a new battery for my old Polar heart rate monitor, so I can do the job properly. (The HR reader on the treadmill isn’t all that easy to use, and, I suspect, not as accurate as the Polar.)

Collecting and interpreting run data is fun as well as useful. I suspect it will do me a world of good while training for the 100K event. Perhaps I’ll be able to combine the best of both worlds, by being a data fiend while training, and then leaving the watch and/or HRM at home when I’m racing next year. (That experience, of course, would give me even data to look at and play with…)

For a while now, it’s going to be hard data, a heavy training program, and ongoing treadmill trance. That sounds perfectly all right with me.

What do you think?

