More Treadmill

I’m continuing to enjoy having (and using) the treadmill. Even on a morning like this (it’s overcast and reasonably mild at -4C), when running outside would be perfectly acceptable, I chose to run inside and on the treadmill.

The obvious upside, of course, is that I don’t have to layer up as I would if I were running outside. I don’t like wearing clothes at the best of times, and putting on the layers of clothing needed to be outside in a Canadian winter makes me feel like I’m being buried alive. More running-specific benefits are being better able to maintain my focus on form and pace than I would outside. This is a big plus for me, as I tend to get sloppy with both over any significant distance. And, almost best of all, I get to run barefoot on the treadmill, whereas I’d certainly have to wear something on my feet at temperatures such as -4C.

I’ve got the treadmill set up just the way I want it. On the wall in front of me as I run are two things – an elevation profile of the Comrades 90K Ultra, and a map of the Around the Bay 30K route. Both help when I want to deepen the “treadmill trance” experience.

This morning, I did 10K at a tempo pace, meaning that I ran the bulk of that distance (aside from short warmup and cooldowns) at 85% to 90% of my maximum effort. And very pleasant it was, too!

What do you think?

