Cross Training

I’m being good about keeping to one of my goals for 2010, which is to use my rest (i.e., non-running) days productively. The training program I’m using to get to my spring and early summer races (the Around the Bay 30K and the Mississauga Marathon) gives me two rest days a week. I know that, if I use them well, they’ll make me a better runner.

Today is a rest day. I started it this morning with 30 lengths in the pool, followed by a really nice 20 minute soak in the whirlpool. (Thank heaven for good neighbourhood community centers!) This afternoon, I did a 20 minute stretching set (adapted from Ashtanga yoga), then some sit ups, some squats, and some light weight work.

It feels good. I’m feeling trimmer and stronger. (I’m not sure if that’s actually the case, but it feels that way, so I’m going to go with it.)

Tomorrow, the program calls for a long run on the treadmill. I’m looking forward to it!

What do you think?

