Saturday Long Run

I had great 25K LSD pace run this morning, in my KSOs. It was cloudy and -6C – not ideal, but pretty good for late January. As an experiment, I filled my water bottles with “sassy water” (lemon slices and grated fresh ginger steeped overnight in a carafe of water). Not fuel in any real sense, but it made a very refreshing drink on the run.

Pre-run breakfast was bowl of kefir, sliced avocado, a little lime juice, blueberries, and a sprinkling of granola. Followed, of course, by an espresso. After the run, I had a couple of pieces of sprouted grain three grain bread, a banana, and another espresso.

That combination of fuels worked very well. I didn’t tire at all on the run, and my legs recovered quickly afterwards.

Recovery is a good thing – this is a back-to-back long run weekend, so I will run 20K tomorrow.

What do you think?

