5K for Breakfast

It’s amazing how much can change in a couple of years. Almost exactly two years ago, I started running again, after being away from it for thirty years. (In 1980, I ran a couple of 10K races and a couple of marathons. But that was literally a lifetime ago.) When I started my new running career, moving my body a full 2K was a painful effort.

By contrast, this morning’s 5K run (barefoot, on the treadmill) felt like a warmup. That’s what my training program calls for, so that’s what I did. It was good, it was fun, and it got my body and my head ready for this very cold Friday. The program calls for 8K tomorrow, which will give me chance to stretch my legs a bit. Then, on Sunday, I’ll run 32K at an LSD pace – hopefully outside, because 32K is an awfully long distance for the treadmill. It’ll take a while, and my legs will be tired and a little sore at the end of it. The long distance will bring its own joys and its own triumphs.

I’m getting older, but I’m definitely getting better…

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
What do you think?

