17K and a Revelation

A good 17K barefoot treadmill run today. Music again, featuring two of my favourite drummers, Michael Shrieve (Santana) and Ginger Baker (Cream, Blind Faith, et al.).

I also had a revelation about why I’ve had such good training runs lately. Yes, it’s about running barefoot, and yes, it’s about training consistently and hard this winter. But everything’s ramped up rather suddenly of late, and I realized this morning that it’s because my core is much stronger than it had been. About a month ago, I started doing sit-ups. At the time, I could only manage five at a time. Now, I’m doing 75 each day, as part of my pre-run warm-up. I use something called a Bender Ball, which is said to make sit-ups/crunches more effective. Certainly seems to be working for me! I’ll keep increasing the number of daily sit-ups I do. Soon I should be at 100 per day. (Who would have thought?)

Core strength. One more element in becoming a strong, old animal…

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
4 comments

  1. Hey, found your blog through someone recommending it on Twitter. Read this post, and I thought I would leave you with a thought!

    There’s more to core strength than just sit-ups! Try to incorporate some planks (front & side). There’s 4 main systems involved in core strength, and sit-ups only hit 1 system 😉

    Just a thought!

  2. Hey Alan- Are you doing all 75 sit-ups at once or in multiple sets? What else is part of your pre-run warmup? (a post about stretching would be great in the future, I’ve been struggling with posterior shin-splints lately).

    Keep up the good work, love the blog.

    1. I’m doing them all at once. I also do a set of yoga-based stretches, some push-ups, and some time on the wobble board. I’ll do a post about stretching soon – thanks for the suggestion!

What do you think?

