Sunny Morning!

I had a really pleasant 8.6K barefoot run this morning. At 7:30 AM, the sun was shining brightly and the temperature had already risen to 6C!

Still running the roads in my neighbourhood, as the sidewalks are gritty and uncomfortable. It dawned on me this morning that the reason the roads are so clear is because we the City’s road-sweeping vehicles tidy them up regularly (which, having lived in places like India and the Philippines, I regard as a wildly extravagant First World thing). I haven’t seen any of the sweepers so far this year (I think they only go out at night), but it’s easy to see the results of their travels.

I’d really like the sidewalks to be tidier. I’ve got a longish hill session on Saturday, and a 20K run scheduled for Sunday. All may be well, though, as the weather forecast calls for rain tomorrow, Saturday, and Sunday. “What you gain upon the roundabout, you lose upon the swings,” as an old English lady I once knew used to say – I may get clean sidewalks, but will have to run in the rain to do so!

What do you think?

