Broken Hip Anniversary

Five years ago today, I was run over by a truck while cycling. The result was a broken hip (upper femur, actually) and a major concussion. I was rushed by ambulance to the hospital, where I had surgery. Fourteen months of physiotherapy followed before I was functional again. Now I have an assortment of stainless steel bolts, plates, and pins in my left hip, and must wear glasses, as the concussion resulted in permanenent double vision.

A few months after the surgery, I was told by an orthopedic surgeon (not the one who did the surgery) that I’d never be able to run again.

I started running again two years ago. In that year, I ran an 8K race, two 10Ks, and a 16K race. Last year, I ran a 10K race, two half marathons, a 30K, DNF’ed in a marathon (bailed at the 27k mark), and completed my first 50K ultra. This year, I’ve already run a 30K race, will run a marathon 10 days from today, a 50K ultra in mid-June, and then a 10K, a half marathon, and another 50K ultra.

I’m an ordinary person, and an ordinary runner. But I had an excellent surgeon, a marvelous physiotherapist, and a huge amount of support from my wife that enabled me to get through it all. I couldn’t have done it otherwise.

I’ve rediscovered the joy and wonder of running. Life is good – and it’s getting better all the time!

7 comments

  1. Alan,

    What a great story! And I’m worried about recovering from a little stress fracture?

    Keep up the great running! I’ve been following your progress and you are an inspiration.

    Bob

  2. Bah… I guess I should have looked a little harder at the photo… That is a huge nail! Have you had any setbacks since you started running again?

  3. Wicked break…Do you have a X-Ray after the metal plates and screws were inserted? I am sure by now you have informed the Doctor of your feats! Very incredible!

    Life is good!

    1. The photo I posted was taken about a month after the surgery. It shows all the pins, plates, and posts. (The metal is very bright in the photo, while the bones look shadowy by comparison.)

What do you think?

