Tired, Tired, Tired

I ran 15K this morning, in my VFFs and at a slightly faster than my target ultra pace. What with my father in his last days and the new greyhound taking up a lot of time, I haven’t had nearly enough sleep in the last couple of weeks. I’m bone tired. But I’m glad I ran anyway.

I have to find some way of getting some rest in the next few days, or Saturday’s 50K ultra is going to be a disaster. I can’t see how, though. Simply too many responsibilities and far too little time.

7 comments

  1. Alan, it’s been a while since my last visit to your site. I’ve missed much of the adventure, but it sounds like you’re being run ragged lately. You will be in my thoughts over this weekend, but you’ve done the training… you’re ready.

    Hal Higdon recommends that a runner get a full night sleep two nights before the race. If you can get 8-10 hours in on Thursday night, you should be good.

    A wise man once told me through a forum to ‘listen to your body’ and ‘be gentle with yourself,’ good advice to run by. Remember that it’s hard to take care of the important things in your life if you don’t take care of yourself.

    Best regards.

  2. Hi Alan, life is full of bumps and rough edges, you’ll do fine during the race. I be running the 50k as well. I’ll keep my eyes open for the bare feet. Take care and great blog!!

What do you think?

