Effortless

An effortless 10K run this morning, barefoot and shirtless. The endorphins kicked in at about 4K, so it was smooth sailing indeed after that. With the humidity factored in, the temperature at 6:45 AM was the equivalent of 37C (99F). Once again, my kind of weather!

During the run through the quiet streets of my suburban neighbourhood, I exchanged pleasant “hello’s” with at least half a dozen elderly Italian gentlemen who were watering their lawns. And was struck, as I often am, by how cheerful early morning folks tend to be.

5 comments

  1. Hey Alan!

    I found your site via the Luna Sandals Twitter feed. I’ve been doing a little bit of barefooting since switching to Vibrams a few months back. Whereabouts in Msga are you? I grew up there, moved to Toronto and relocated to Long Branch 10 years ago. I do most of my running along the lake and Lakeshore paths. I’m over at http://www.dailymile.com/people/gordasm if you use dailymile.

    Take care,
    -Gord

    1. I like hot, humid weather. And I love running in it. My muscles feel loose, my body works well, my brain is clear. I like the feeling of wearing next to nothing, and I love sweating heavily. Winters, on the other hand, are really tough for me.

What do you think?

