Optimizing My Form

Today’s run was 10K barefoot, on pavement. It was another cool morning at 17C, but it was sunny, so very pleasant.

I continue to work on optimizing my form. I’ve pretty much got the “standing up straight, shoulders back, chest out” thing internalized now. But I have a tendency to hold my elbows back a bit, which makes me a little stiffer than I’d like. (Never mind that – it also makes me look awkward.) So this morning, I tried to remember to swing my arms loosely towards the front of my torso. It helped, so I’ll continue in that direction.

Working at form optimization is fun. It’s an ongoing experiment which will never really end. Running varying distances at different paces, and on smoother or rougher surfaces, helps, as it affords almost endless opportunities for tweaking. So the experiment continues.

As I get stronger and more relaxed, I also get better at allowing the stilling of my “monkey mind,” that is, the tendency of my mind to jump from thought to thought the way a monkey jumps from tree to tree. On middle-distance to longer runs, I experience moments where my mind is still and quiet, existing entirely in the present moment. In previous posts, I’ve written about that as “flow” or “zone.” It’s a good place to be, and I want more of it.

One comment

  1. I experience moments where my mind is still and quiet, existing entirely in the present moment. In previous posts, I’ve written about that as “flow” or “zone.” It’s a good place to be, and I want more of it.

    Jason nods in agreement.

What do you think?

