Good News

I met with my oncologist today (which I do every three months), and got some good news.

My PSA count is 1.70, down from 2.94 in mid-October. To put that in perspective, my PSA in January 2006, just before I had my first round of radiation treatments, was 6.48. The number dropped to 1.44 after eight weeks of five-times-a-week external beam radiation therapy in March and April of 2006. It continued to go down steadily until January of this year, when it began climbing. By mid-August of 2010, it was up to 6.06.

I was immediately scheduled for a second round of radiation therapy, which I had in September. This time, I had two sessions of high dose rate brachytherapy. They were pretty brutal, but they seem to have done the trick. I’m heading in the right direction again.

The goal, of course, is to get my PSA count down to zero, or very close to it, and get it to stay there for five years. Then I’ll be declared a “cancer survivor.” Last time, I made it to four years before things got complicated again. Hopefully, the journey will be more successful this time.

6 comments

  1. Hey Alan, Great news. Let’s get those PSAs down to zero!!!

    I’m really impressed. You inspire me, for I’ve seen the affects of radiation treatment on close family. To think that you have rebounded to be able to train and run is fantastic.

    Keep it up! See you Sunday

    Rod

    1. Thanks for the kind words, Rod.

      I don’t kid myself about the effects of radiation. I know I haven’t recovered yet from the effects of the treatments I got in September or the cumulative effects of the treatments I’ve had over the past four years. But, if nothing else, I’ve learned patience and cautious optimism.

      I’m not doing any serious training now, just getting back into it. Certainly, I have a long way to go before I get the serious training I’ll need for next year’s races.

      I look forward to running with you on Sunday!

  2. Alan:

    Congratulations! You deserve it. You do all he right things and you’re a great, strong person.

    Keep up the good work!!

    T

  3. This is really good news. Cancer sucks. I got off easy (breast cancer) but the mental scars are deep.
    Wish you become cancer survivor really soon.

What do you think?

