Tan10 Race Report

Yesterday’s Tannenbaum 10K was a good test of me and my new Invisible Shoe huaraches – and we both passed with flying colours.

The weather was exactly the kind I dislike intensely. The temperature was 4C (which isn’t too bad for early December here), but 40 kph winds made it feel downright nasty. As if that weren’t bad enough, it rained, and it rained hard. The course, which goes through Toronto’s pleasant and pretty (in summer, anyway) Kew Gardens, involved lots of twists, turns, muddy corners, and vast, deep puddles. In short, things sucked.

What you can’t see in this photo are the one meter high waves in Lake Ontario. What you can see is me drafting the big guy in front of me. (No shame in that, as long as you say “thank you” when you finally ease past him…)

(photo courtesy of Amanda Mathieson)

It turned out to be a wonderful race.

I managed to set a new personal best, with a clock time of 56:16 and a gun time of 57:15. (The timing was done manually rather than by chip; runners were tagged and clocked as they crossed the finish line.) All the training and nutrition changes I’d made over the past few weeks really paid off. I’d done short, fast runs on the treadmill three times a week, light weights and stretching twice a week, water running once a week, and one longer outdoor run on Sundays. I’m now sugar-free and gluten-free. I’d been doing 15 minutes each day with my Sports Breather. I’ve lost 10 lbs over the past five weeks. I went into the race feeling vital, light, and strong.

That’s not the regime I’d want if I were training for a marathon or an ultra, but it certainly got me where I wanted to go yesterday.

This was my first race with my Invisible Shoe huaraches. They were amazing. Only a pair of thin rubber soles and a couple of nylon laces, and I fairly danced on the pavement, the boardwalk, and through the icy puddles. Oddly enough, my feet never really felt cold (though they certainly got very wet). My footing was solid, and the laces neither slipped nor stretched. 10 out of 10 for Invisible Shoes!

As you can see in this photo, after close to an hour of running in the wet, the cold, and the wind, I was still happy.

(photo courtesy of Amanda Mathieson)

All in all, a brilliant day. Who knows, maybe one day I’ll even grow to like running in the cold and the wet…

5 comments

  1. all my cousins used huaraches in his life, when handling cattle, milking cows or in the harvest of corn any time. they adopted becuase huaraches are so confortable working in the farm. they use cowboy boots only sundays or when goin to the city, now I’ll make my own and wear those in sundays

  2. Way to go Alan!

    I have invisibleshoe huaraches too and should probably get another kit, now that I know where to punch the holes. I consider my first pair a test pair.

    I’m also interested in getting a sport’s breather too.

    1. Thanks, Hawkeye! Good to hear from you again.

      Getting the holes correctly placed on mine has made all the difference in the world. Now it’s happy huarache time.

  3. I just got mine. I am still adjusting the laces but even the way I have them after the first try, they feel very good. Ran 4 miles without major issues.
    Did you wear socks with your shoes? I know I would. 4C and winds, yep, I would wear socks for sure.
    Glad you finished happy.

    1. Yes, I wore Injinji socks with the huaraches. You can (sort of) see them in the photos.

      Did I finish happy? Are you kidding? When I saw my time, I was nearly ecstatic!

What do you think?

