Working Harder

I’ve been a bit of a slacker lately. Well, not so much a slacker as a slider. I’ve been sliding around my exercises, rather than pushing myself. Sure, I’ve run on the treadmill, done my gravel bucket sets, mixed it up with some water running, and stretched. But it hasn’t been consistent, and it hasn’t been focused.

Time to knuckle down. I can see my training program on the horizon (it starts on January 30), and I know that if I don’t begin acting like a responsible, committed runner, I’m going to struggle. So suck it up, I say to myself, and face it like a man.

Yesterday, I ran a solid 4K tempo run, barefoot on the treadmill. It’s been a while since I did a sustained tempo pace like that. It felt good. Surprisingly good, in fact. So good that the exhilaration and all round goodness of it lasted all day. That’s one for being responsible!

This morning, I ran 8K at a steady pace, once again barefoot on the treadmill. Good form and belly breathing were my friends, and I finished the 8K feeling calm and virtuous. In the evening, I did 20 minutes of gravel bucket running, and made the soles of my feet turn blue.

Tomorrow, I’ll be a tempo runner again. I’m looking forward to it. Honestly, I am.

3 comments

    1. Sorry, that was kind of clumsy shorthand. A tempo pace is one that’s faster than a steady pace but slower than a race pace. Exactly what that means varies, of course, with what your target race pace is. A simpler way of looking at it is “your tempo pace is one that you can hold, but one that you’d really like not to hold.ā€ šŸ™‚

What do you think?

