LSD Treadmill

Had a good 13K LSD (Long Slow Distance) paced run this morning, barefoot on the treadmill. (That’s 7:00 mins/km.) I’d considered doing the run outdoors, as the sun is shining and the temperature is 0C (-4c with the windchill). But the sidewalks are still a mix of rock salt and icy patches, so I opted for the treadmill.

No music this time. But I have on the wall in front of my treadmill three images which help with longer treadmill runs. In the center is the route map for the Around the Bay 30K race, which comes up only six weeks from today. on either side of that are photos I took recently in the Dominican Republic, one of palm trees against a bright blue sky, the other of a nice back road I often ran on. They’re a good counter to the sight of my snow-filled back yard, which I can see out the window to my left.

Happily, the run included a couple of brief, but good, flow moments, one just before the 6K mark and one just after 10K. I couldn’t stay in either for long – there was simply too much going on in my mind this morning. They happened, though, and that was good enough for me.

It was good run. Nice pace, good rhythms, and a great outcome. I feel energized and cheerrful. All good.

What do you think?

