Collected Wisdom

Some would call them mantras. For me, they’re things I say to myself when the occasion demands. Quite simply, they help me run.

“If you want to win anything – a race, yourself, your life – you have to go a little berserk.” George Sheehan

“Barefoot is barefoot. Lose the footwear!” Ken Bob Saxton

“Think easy, light, effortless, and fast. “ Micah True (aka Caballo Blanco)

“Hills are my friend, hills are my friend.” An old cycling buddy

“I’m a strong old animal.” Me

One comment

  1. Is that Sheehan quote in his book, “Running & Being?” That’s another one of those books sitting on my nightstand waiting for a little attention. It sounds like he is a very like-able character.
    I also dig Barefoot Ken Bob’s brazenness. He says it how it is 🙂
    I could have used your cycling buddy’s quote the other day on the treadmill. I tried out a hill interval workout that stretched me up to 10% incline while running 6.5 miles per hour, and I cursed the hills more than trying to befriend them… the negative energy probably didn’t work as well as a positive mantra would have.

What do you think?

