Barefoot Anniversary

Two years ago today, I did my first barefoot run. It was only 0.6K, but it was the nudge that got me going. It was early in the morning, with the streets still wet from an overnight rain, and my suburban neighbourhood was absolutely quiet. I had been running shod until then. That morning, though, I felt stale. I was scheduled to run, but I just didn’t feel like it. I’d been reading about barefoot running for a while, so decided that I’d give it a try. It felt better – much better – than I expected. So I just kept on going.

Two years later, I’m a better runner by far for having gone barefoot. I run barefoot from about mid-March to mid-November. (This is Canada, after all.) I run barefoot on my treadmill in the dark winter months, and do occasional cold-weather runs in Invisble Shoe huaraches and Injinji socks, as long as the sidewalks are clear of snow and ice. I’ve run a 10K race and a half marathon barefoot, and have two 10Ks and another half coming up soon. I’m run-commuting to and from work barefoot four days a week, and doing one or two long runs as well. It’s all pretty unstructured, but it’s working really well.

Couldn’t be happier, couldn’t be fitter, couldn’t be more at peace. That’s pretty good for an old guy. 🙂

18 comments

  1. Congrats! A great anniversary to celebrate.
    I just celebrated my one year in sandals and I couldn’t be happier.
    Keep up the motivating and inspiring work, I appreciate it.

  2. hi Alan Ive never commented before but you are such an inspiration for me Ive started running barefoot as well boy its the hardest thing Ive ever done before but I am so relaxed now. Great job on the two year anniversary!
    Smiles from Vancouver

    1. Thank you so much for those kind words, Sarah. I’m glad to hear that you’ve discovered the joys of barefoot running. I wish you well with it.

  3. Awesome. Congratulations Alan!

    I’m not sure exactly when I started – I think it was early last year, but I don’t think I really got it until this year.

    1. Thanks, Daniel. On almost every run I do these days, I say to myself (in complete amazement, I might add) “I think I’m finally getting it!” 🙂

  4. Alan:

    Happy Anniversay, my friend!!

    Thanks for being selfless and sharing your thoughts, experiences, knowledge and feelings. You could be barefoot running and not blogging, as I’m sure a lot of people do. Because you take the time to communicate with us, we’re all a lot better off.

    Keep on keepin’ on…

    T

    1. Thanks, Todd. For me, it’s the other way around – without you folks, my barefoot running wouldn’t be nearly this meaningful. We’re all in it together. 🙂

  5. That is extremely inspiring Alan. I think all runners, not just barefooters would benefit from reading your blog and taking a look at why they run in the first place. Kudos in the 2 year anniversary.

What do you think?

