Loser!

My long-term goal of getting down to a good weight is working well. This morning, I weighed in at 151 lbs/68.5 kgs. Six weeks ago, I weighed 158 lbs/71.6 kgs, and on December 1, 2010, I weighed 168 lbs/76.2 kgs. (To put those numbers in context, I’m 5′ 8.5″, or 174 cm tall.)

I haven’t done anything really radical to make this happen. I eat very well and very sensibly. About three weeks ago, I cut out potatoes and rice from my diet, but I still eat bread (sprouted grains and spelt, usually at breakfast, toasted with almond butter) and lots of bananas. Running frequently has helped. I’ve started doing 100K or slightly under that a week most of the time.

Where am I going with this? I’m not sure, to be honest. 150 lbs/68 kgs would be nice, but that’s probably only because it’s a nice round number. Forty years ago, when I was 23 years old, I weighed 145 lbs/65.8 kgs, but I’m not sure that I want or need to get that low.

One comment

  1. Kudos to you Alan. I’ve been noticing that my weight has very slowly declining after hitting the “plateau” of 225 after my gastric bypass. In the passed few weeks it has gone from 225 to around 222 without me having to do much in terms of watching what I eat…I mean I am limited in volume, but a candy bar is still a candy bar…If I really tried I could most assuredly lose weight faster, but, like you, that is not what I run for. Glad to see weight loss as a by product rather than the end of the means.

What do you think?

