Hannukah Hustle

I recently decided to add one more race to my 2011 calendar. (I know, I’ve come a long way from my decision in the Spring of this year to avoid races entirely. That’s OK, consistency isn’t always a good thing… )

The race is the Hannukah Hustle 10K, which will take place in Hamilton, Ontario on Sunday, November 20. It’s another race organized by the Kelly and Mark Arnott of VR Pro. (Already this year, I’ve done VR Pro’s Downtown Dash 10K and Dundas Cactus 10K, both of which were great fun. I think I’m becoming a VR Pro addict!) The Hustle is a charity race in support of a fitness center for people over 70 years of age at Shalom Village, a long-term care center in Hamilton. This year’s Hustle will be the 10th anniversary edition of the race.

I decided to do this one because it will be a nice final race for the calendar year, before the realities of a Canadian winter push my barefoot running back indoors and onto the treadmill. According Kelly Arnott , the course is mostly pavement, with some gravel trail. That, along with the fact the average low temperature for Hamilton in November is 0C (and the average snowfall for the month is 7.2cm), may mean I’ll do the race in my Invisible Shoe huaraches rather than barefoot.

I’m not Jewish, and I’m not really into charity runs. But the goodies for this race are pretty hard to resist – not only does every finisher get a Star of David pendant, the first 400 registrants get a technical t-shirt with the following cool image emblazoned on it.

Hannukah Hustle 10K

I’m in! How could I not be?

2 comments

What do you think?

