On My Way

Mississauga MarathonFour weeks from today, I’ll run the Mississauga Half Marathon. I’m looking forward to this one, for a number of reasons.

For one thing, it’s my “local” race. The start is only 2.5K away from home, and the route is a familiar one. For another, though I’ve only done it once before, that was when I rediscovered the joy of racing. (Basic lesson learned: “Get over yourself, it’s really just a big street party.”) Third, I feel I’m in reasonably good shape for the half. I trained pretty intensively over the winter, and began my 2012 race season with a satisfying performance at the Sarasota Half Marathon in mid-March.

Most of all, though, it’s because I’ll race the Mississauga Half in a way that suits me and my running philosophy, i.e., without gadgets and without specific goals. Sarasota was an experiment, because I ran it with a target finishing time (which I didn’t meet), a watch, and a paceband. At Mississsauga, I’ll go back to the “real me,” and run without a watch or paceband, and with my only goals being to acquit myself honourably and have a good (not necessarily a fast) time.

As if that weren’t enough, we’re having an early and mild Spring, which means that the weather on May 6 might be perfect for a happy half. Put all of the above together, and it’s looking like a good approach to the race.

What do you think?

