Lap Counter

I’ve recently started running on the track at the local Y. I’d wanted to for some time, but the Y folks wouldn’t let me do so barefoot. The solution? My Soft Star Moc3s, of course! The Moc3s are absolutely perfect on the painted concrete indoor track.

I’ve never run on a track before, and I’m surprised that I like it as much as I do. Maybe I shouldn’t be too surprised, though. After all, I’m one of the rare runners who likes running on a treadmill. The track is just a different kind of focus, that’s all. Round and round on a short course (the track is only 200 meters in length) isn’t as bad as you might think. I can get to, and hold, a very decent pace, and can “zone in” to a nice focus as well. With such a short track length, though, getting the distances I want requires quite a few laps. And that means I’ve got to count.

So far, I’ve gotten by using fingers and knuckles to count the laps. But I want to do longer distances, and I know that’s not going to work for long. So… solution #2.

Lap counter The Sportcount Lap Counter is a nifty little device that one wears like a ring, and that offers a simple, one-button use to keep count. A bonus is that it’s waterproof, which means I can use it in the pool as well. That’s a good thing, as my training for the Vulture Bait 50K Trail Ultra, which begins on July 1, involves twice-weekly swim sessions.

The wee beastie tracks up to 9,999, so I think it’ll keep me in laps for a while. 🙂

2 comments

  1. Very interesting product. Strongly considering getting this to count laps in the pool, Thanks for sharing Alan!

    1. I’m going to give it a try sometime this week, either on the track or in the pool. Will let you know how it works out.

What do you think?

