Iroquoia Trail Test 18K

Iroquoia Trail Test 18K

Yesterday, I registered for the Iroquoia Trail Test 18K. I’ve been thinking about this for a while, but have hesitated because this is a real trail race, full of steep climbs and descents, lots of rocky bits and pieces, that sort of thing. I’ve never run a trail race before, much less a gnarly one like this.

Crawford Lake Conservation Area

This year’s race will take place not far from my home, at the top of the Niagara Escarpment, a rugged and beautiful part of the southern Ontario landscape. The Escarpment is a UNESCO World Biosphere Reserve, one of only 16 biosphere reserves in Canada.

Here’s a short video of the 2011 edition of the Iroquoia Trail Test. Watch it, and I think you’ll see why I’ve decided to run it.

 

I’ve only just begun to explore trail running, and I have much to learn. But, with two trail races already scheduled for the season, I can sense a transition happening in my running.

Or maybe I’m about to fall into an abyss…

2 comments

  1. Watching the video, it’s no wonder you’ve been thinking about this for while. How wonderful to have such beautiful and challenging running terrain so close to home. I’m massively impressed that you’re doing this because I know it’s a little out of your comfort zone. Which is as a good a reason as any to give it a try, hey? I’m sure you’ll enjoy it, Alan, and take much away from it.

What do you think?

