Low-Carb Treats

LCHF

Part of my ketogenic aka LCHF (Low Carb High Fat) journey is to look at new ways of fueling my runs and races. It’s a fascinating exploration, involving nutritional science, contrarian theories, and just plain good taste. I’ve made some interesting discoveries.

First, I’ve discovered that I don’t need to fuel at all for most of my runs. I now run fasted, that is, when I run in the morning, I don’t eat anything beforehand. Having eaten well the evening before (usually at about 6:30 PM), and having become used to burning fat instead glucose for fuel, I can happily run up to 32K without supplementary fueling. When I’m finished the run, I’ll have a nice big LCHF meal and be all set. I’ve also found that I don’t need an electrolyte supplement in my water bottle, even on very hot days (it’s occasionally been as high as 32C lately). I simply add the juice of half a lemon and a pinch of sea salt to a liter or so of water in my Nathan hydration vest.

I’ve also discovered four really good things I can use for fueling my long runs. I cooked two of them, my wife made one, and one is a commercial product.

First up, a really good low-carb trail mix. I bought all the ingredients at a local bulk food store, after carefully checking the ingredient labels to make sure they were sugar-free. It contains raw almonds, raw cashews, shredded unsweetened coconut, diced black mission figs, and raw hulled sunflower seeds. If I can figure out how to carry it easily and comfortably, it might be possible to carry some on an ultra.

Low-carb trail mix

Next, a “cake in a mug” that I made using coconut flour, unsweetened cocoa powder, an egg, baking powder, butter, and couple of tablespoons of kefir (a kind of yogurt). Since making my first first one, I’ve experimented with the ingredient mix, trying to get to a texture and consistency that will produce some thing dense enough to hold it together in a bag or pouch while I’m running. Not quite there yet, but it makes a marvelous cake!

Cake in a mug

One day recently, my wife made these low-carb, high fat mini egg, meat, and veg things. Don’t know quite what to call them, so I’ll just go with “egg cups” for now. She lined muffin cups with a slice of prosciutto, scrambled an egg, added some diced cooked onions and mushrooms, and baked the resulting mixture for about 30 minutes. (The lighter one was made without scrambling the egg.) You can vary the add-ins any way you want, with things like steamed broccoli, cheese, tomatoes, etc.

Egg cups

And lastly, some raw organic cocoa beans, which I bought at the Feast of Fields organic food and farmers market event yesterday. They’re fermented, sun-dried whole non-roasted cacao beans from Ecuador. They fit very nicely with my LCHF diet, as they’re low carb, high fat, with negligible fiber, and are perfect for carrying in a pocket or pouch. I think I’ve found a brand-new ultra fuel!

Cocoa beans

I’m having fun with this. All of the above recipes are easy and quick to make, and use ingredients that easy to find. Next up… a coconut flour banana bread. Stay tuned!

2 comments

    1. Thanks, Peter. I’m going to make some “cake in a mug” (in the form of cupcakes) for post-Milton fueling, so would be happy to bring one along for you to test, if you’re interested. I’m also going to have some cocoa beans at hand, and will certainly be willing to share them.

What do you think?

