Heading for the Vulture Bait

The Vulture Bait

The Vulture Bait 50K is exactly one week away. It’s going to be a challenge.

To date, I’ve run one road 50K ultra and DNF’ed a barefoot road 50K (at 37K), run six marathons (one of them barefoot), ten half marathons (eight of them barefoot), and completed a 6.6K barefoot trail race. But the Vulture Bait’s a trail ultra, so it’ll be different from anything I’ve attempted before.

For this one, I’m going to wear my new Vivobarefoot Breatho Trails. They’re an ultra-lightweight shoe, with an outsole fitted with multi-directional lugs and an ultra-thin puncture-resistant layer to maximize proprioception. The uppers are a lightweight and breathable mesh. An anatomic toe box and zero-drop profile round out the picture.

Vivobarefoot Breatho Trails

The Breathos are almost tailor-made for these sections of the Vulture Bait course:

Vulture roots

Vulture rocks

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(Thanks to Terry V. for the photos)

My goal for this race is really simple: finish inside the 7-hour cutoff. My strategy is equally simple: relentless forward progress. If I can hold to the latter, I can accomplish the former.

The forecast for next Saturday is partly cloudy, with a low temperature of 7C and a high of 11C, with a 40% chance of showers. Not bad running weather, by any means.

When I first registered for this event, I thought its name was funny. Now I’m not so sure.

4 comments

What do you think?

