Hipaversary

X-ray, left hip

Nine years ago today, I was run over by a truck while cycling. Somebody called an ambulance, and I was taken away for emergency surgery. The result was that I had some stainless steel grafted into my femur. (Click on the above image to see it in all its detailed glory.) I think of it as my “hardware upgrade.”

The follow-up to the surgery was 14 months of intensive physiotherapy. That brought me to what my physiotherapist called “functional” movement. Getting to “dynamic” movement took a good while longer. But it was the beginning of my return – after an absence of thirty years – to running. So, in the end, it’s a happy story, because it’s brought me to where I am today.

Six days from today, I’m going to run a 50K trail race. Life is good.

4 comments

  1. Wow! Talk about comeback story! Definitely makes your story even more awesome than I thought before.

  2. That is not only a badass story, Alan, but extremely inspirational. Of course, I think virtually everyone on this blog would agree with me, you are always an inspiration.
    Happy Hipaversary and have fun with that trail run!!

What do you think?

