No to Niagara

I’ve decided – reluctantly, but probably wisely – that I won’t attempt the Niagara 100K on June 14.

That’s a huge disappointment, of course, as I’ve really been looking forward to it. But my feet haven’t healed enough yet to do a 50K, never mind a 100. I lost almost all of the skin from the soles of my feet after running 40K of rough gravel at the Elk/Beaver 50K on May 10, and the new skin is too soft and too tender to run anything long. (Though I did manage almost 30K last Sunday, and am getting in between 6K and 18K on other days.)

Bummer, as we used to say back in the day.

I’ve learned, though, over that past few years, that it’s better to be sensible in cases like this. I’d rather DNS Niagara than try it and damage my feet any more. I’ll spend the next weeks running progressively longer distances, and I’ll pay careful attention to how things go.

Next up is Stage 3 of the ENDURrun International, a 30K trail race in Waterloo, Ontario, on August 12. Then I’ll run the Self-Transcendence 12 Hour on September 27, in Ottawa.

And no foolishness along the way. I promise.

9 comments

  1. It is a bummer (we still use the term), but probably a very wise move for doing more later. Nothing worse than blasting the hell out of yourself then doing the same again before things are back to normal…

  2. Great call Alan. I know exactly how hard it is to put your health first. I woke up on Comrades Marathon race day on Sunday full of flu and had to make the same call. I said to my wife I run to stay healthy, I don’t run to run Comrades (or any other race for that matter) so my health comes first. The race is going nowhere. Get those feet back to the way they should be and all the best.

What do you think?

