Bucket List

Once in while, I like to make a list of races I’d like to run. Not saying I’ll get to all of them, but it’s nice to keep them in mind. Here’s my current bucket list:

Race to the Stones

A 100K ultra along The Ridgeway, a 5,000 year old path in the UK. The course passes Iron Age forts and ancient burial chambers, crosses the Thames and the Salisbury Plain, and finishes at the 3,000-year-old stone circle at Avebury.

I plan to run The Race to the Stones in July of 2015.

Two Oceans Marathon

Billed as “the world’s most beautiful marathon,” this is actually an ultra, not a marathon. It takes place in Cape Town, South Africa, and runs 56K from the Indian Ocean to the Atlantic Ocean.

I was born in South Africa, so doing Two Oceans would be a kind of homecoming for me.

Ultra-Trail Harricana

Back to Canada, in Quebec’s Charlevoix region – remote and wild, with rolling terrain, fjords, and wide bays. The Harricana 65K is a true wilderness ultra, featuring 1,800 meters of elevation gain.

This would be my first wilderness ultra.

Lesotho Ultra Trail

Lesotho is a small, mountainous country, completely surrounded by South Africa. Over 80% of Lesotho lies above 1,800m (5,906 ft). The Lesotho Ultra Trail is only 50K in length, but is a Skyrunning Ultra, featuring 2621m of vertical ascent and 2437m of vertical descent. The course consists of dirt roads, jeep tracks, rocky trails (the greater part of the course) and short sections of open grass. Stream crossings and loose rock are also featured.

This one’s The Big Dream.

15 comments

  1. Wow! Good luck on that bucket list man! I’m sure when you put your mind into it, you can do it. Just push and push until you get to your goals. My goal now is to finish an ultra. I’ve been really training hard for this one. I hope I can finish. Thanks for sharing man!

  2. Oh, and you should speak to Andrew Barnes form T Rockets about the Two oceans – I’m sure he’s doing it next year and also trying to convince me to go over to SA to do it with him πŸ™‚

    1. I’ll keep that in mind. Thanks!

      I won’t be looking at Two Oceans until 2016 at the earliest. I’ll be 68 then, so it might be a good time to do it. πŸ™‚

      1. 2016 would probably be a better time for me to – all this racing, especially in other countries gets expensive! Not to mention my husband isn’t too keen on always being stuck at home looking after the kids!

  3. Count me in on the Race to the Stones!! It’s going to be my first Ultra – I don’t expect you to wait for me but I would certainly like to run a portion of it with you Alan!!

    1. I’d love to run some (or all!) of the Stones with you, Tracy. Let’s plan for that.

      I’ve also had interest from a couple of other people, both in the UK. One is a fellow from Staines in Surrey, who’ll run the Stones this year (his first ultra). The other is a very experienced ultra and fell runner who lives in Cornwall.

What do you think?

