Excursions

CON2338

I’m about to go on holiday. A couple of days in Amsterdam, a few days in Dubai, then a cruise through the Arabian Gulf and the Gulf of Oman, with stops in Abu Dhabi and Muscat. Aside from the delights of visiting places I’ve never been before – not to mention going on my first ever cruise – I’m really looking forward to running in Amsterdam, Dubai, and on the ship (which has a running track on its uppermost deck). I’ll be gone for a couple of weeks.

During that time, my access to the Net will be irregular. I’ll try to post here when I have time and access, as well as to my Twitter feed. (If you’re reading this on my WordPress.com blog site, you’ll see my latest three Twitter posts on the sidebar to the right.) I’ll do my best to include some photos of where I’ve run.

New experiences, interesting places, and some much-needed sunshine and warmth. It’s all good.

14 comments

    1. Thanks, Deb. I’d never wanted to cruise before, either. This one appeals because of the route. And because there’s a running track on the ship. 🙂

      1. I have this thing about not wanting to lose sight of the shore. My parents went on an Alaskan cruise that might interest me. I guess you’ll never find me sailing around the world. The running track would definitely be a plus.

      2. What’s the issue about losing sight of the shore? (My family travelled by ship when we emigrated from South Africa to Canada in 1954. I was 6 at the time. Perhaps that’s why I rather like the idea of being at sea.)

  1. WOW! Have a fantastic time. Sounds like a wonderful trip! Hope you write up a report when you return. I’ve run on a cruise ship before and I think you’ll enjoy it!

    1. Thanks for the good wishes. Yes, I remember your blog post about running on the cruise. I’m really looking forward to running the shiptop track at dawn in the Arabian Gulf!

    1. We’ll be there this coming Sunday and part of Monday. Very limited opportunity to run, though. In fact, the only window I have is 5 to 6 AM on Sunday, for a very short run near the hotel. Don’t worry, I’m sure I’ll be back in Amsterdam sometime soon.

What do you think?

