Half Marathon Teaser

Yesterday’s Oakville Half Marathon went very well indeed. I managed a new PB for the distance – 1:58:03.8, which is 5 minutes quicker than my old PB (set in early 2009, while running shod), and a whole 14 minutes quicker than my finishing time of 2:12:39 at the Mississauga Marathon in May of this year (which was my first barefoot half).

Needless to say, I’m well pleased.

It was a beautiful day, and a great race. I’ll post a full race report soon, but, just to tide you over, here’s a photographer’s proof of me crossing the finish line.

Finish line, Oakville Half

6 comments

  1. Alan – Huge belated congratulations. I’ve been a bit distracted these past couple of weeks and apologize for not be on top of this.

    It’s actually a little comically to see you gliding in across the finish line and see a guy in the background doing everything he can to make sure he has knee problems in a couple of years. Not sure what he could do to land any harder on his heel.

    1. Not a problem at all, Daniel. I know what it’s like to be busy! Yes, the guy behind me was striding long and hard. He’d been doing that for a while, but not in as extreme a fashion as when he was closing on the finish line. I thought he was working way too hard. 🙂

  2. Hat tip to you Sir. Looking good, Alan.
    Happy accident on the photo. Barefoot vs shod for all to see.
    Heel striking anyone?

    Jason

What do you think?